We are a co-operative providing affordable workshops and shared facilities for woodworkers.

Using Webnode to construct a website

24/07/2013 15:00

Construction tools

In my experience it was easy to use Webnode's software to construct a basic website, add pages and subpages, change the template, to preview and to publish content at the push of a button

I appreciated how straight forwardly I could upload files, such as documents, images and sounds.  Webnode allowed me to devise a folder structure and organise my files how I wanted them for easy retrieval. User files are hosted by Webnode, and there is a generous allocation of free server space too. 

On the downside:

  • I am missing a back-up function. I do realise this is offered as an optional paid for extra.  Unfortunately Aberystwyth University's assignment guidelines discourage the use of the paid for extras.  As a consequence I had to manually save to disc each page, article, changes made to the style sheet, etc. This proved tedious, and through backing up like this I managed to merely store some of the content.  If it were required to restore the website after an accident, this content would have to be manually reassembled to construct a replacement site, rather than retrieve the original one.  Further I find it worrying to use a free service that could at any day disappear, for construction and storage of a major piece of work.
  • Likewise I would have appreciated a facility for working offline; due to my home's somewhat wobbly internet connection I repeatedly lost some of my work, when the connection dropped to Webnode's server.
  • An "undo" button exists within the text and image editors, but it would have been immensely useful to have had one for all aspects of constructing and editing the site.  Spellchecking software within the text editor would no doubt have prevented some howlers.

Webnode support

This is a feature I find most useful.  Webnode users have several options to access help and support when constructing their sites. 

  • Webnode's officiel site has a searchable and browsable knowlegge base with step by step instructions.
  • There is a user forum provided jointly by providers and users of Webnode.  It is searchable, and I received timely and helpful repies to my questions.
  • Webnode's blog offers regular tips on how to add and use tools such as tags or a connection to LinkedIn, a social media site for professionals.
  • Webnode staff offer to answer individual questions by email.

Engaging with Chiselworks' audiences

Webnode's software is aiding Chiselworks' goal of facilitating user enquiries and information by providing a number of widgets and templates that the site designer can easily utilise and customise.  Examples of these, which are used here, are the contact form, FAQ and forum.  They are easy to use and update, and Webnode sends an email to a specified address each time the contact form has been used, helping the administrators to provide speedy responses.

I learned how to harvest HTML code from other websites for use with Webnode's facility to embed code.  This way I was able to provide a Google map, an RSS feed to another woodworkers' site, and links to Creative Commons information.  This would be useful for the audience of Chiselworks if the organisation did exist.

Promoting Chiselworks and its members

Webnode provides instructions how to register the site with internet search engines Google and Yahoo to increase visibility. - I did not use this facility, as I do not want the site to be found by genuine searchers looking for woodworkers, or workshop space.  Webnode adds some social networking buttons to some of the content by default, and the designer can add more. This enables visitors to share and "like" the content, which in turn is likely to increase the website's ranking.  The facility to add meta-tags to each page should also improve the website's visibility.

Chiselworks has many members who would want to construct their own promotional page within its website.  Webnode facilitates this by allowing its users to add components to their pages, such as photogalleries and contact forms, and to embed files.  An example of a member's promotional page is Lula's page, which I feel is quite sucessful.

Robustness

With this requirement of the assignment guidelines I struggle.  Nothing appears to be written about this in the course text, but reference is made to a WC3 document - the Web content accessibility guidelines.  Its section on Robustness defines Robustness:

"Principle 4: Robust - Content must be robust enough that it can be interpreted reliably by a wide variety of user agents, including assistive technologies."

The explanations that follow appear to deal exclusively with validity of code, e.g. HTML.  Code is provided by Webnode, not me.  I have however endeavoured to fulfil to those accessibility criteria which are under my control. This extends from presenting the content in clear language, with simply constructed sentences grouped into small chunks of text, to technical aspects like providing alternative text "Alt text" for images.